Joint Central Committee Executive

Calum Steele

General Secretary

Calum Steele became General Secretary of the Scottish Police Federation in June 2008.

Calum joined Northern Constabulary in 1993 and has over 21 years police service. In addition to his role within the SPF, Calum is in his fourth year as Deputy Staff Side Secretary of the Police Negotiating Board (PNB) where pay, pensions and conditions of service for all of the United Kingdom’s 160,000 police officers are negotiated and agreed. Calum is also in his second term as the General Secretary of the International Council of Police Representative Associations (ICPRA) which is a body bringing together over 1.5 million police members from 43 police unions spanning nearly 30 countries and four continents.

Calum is married to Claire and has two children; Emma and Ruairidh.

David Hamilton


David Hamilton became Chair of the Scottish Police Federation in April 2020.

He served on the Tayside Joint Branch Board as a Constable and the Sergeant rep since 2001. He became its  full time Secretary in 2011 and, on the inception of Police Scotland, Chair of the North Area Committee, then Vice chair in 2017. He has extensive experience in the Operational Support arena and is  an operationally active and qualified Public Order/CBRN Commander and Post Incident Manager. David has an ICT background is a regular contributor and commentator on national policing issues.

David Kennedy

Deputy General Secretary

David Kennedy became Deputy General Secretary of the Scottish Police Federation in April 2015.

He joined Strathclyde Police in 1996 and has over 19 years police service.  He became a Federation representative for K Division in 2003 working in the Renfrewshire area.  He was elected as Deputy Secretary of Strathclyde JBB in December 2004 and as Secretary in December 2008.

Following the restructuring of the SPF in 2013, David became the Conduct Secretary before taking up the post of Deputy General Secretary in 2015.

Brian Jones

Vice chair

Brian Jones became Vice Chair of the Scottish Police Federation in April 2020.

He joined Lothian and Borders Police in November 1990.  

He was elected as the Sergeants representative for Operational division in 2004 and remained a member of Lothian and Borders Joint Branch Board until the creation of Police Scotland where he became a Sergeants representative role for J Division as part of the East Area Committee.

Brian became the Chair of the East Area Committee of the Scottish Police Federation in February 2015. He was elected as the Assistant to the General Secretary for Health and Safety in March 2017 and then Vice Chair in April 2020.  He currently has the strategic oversight for Health and Safety, Training and Members Services.