North Area Committee

Neil MacDonald

Secretary, North Area Committee

Neil MacDonald became Secretary of the North Area Committee in July 2018.

He joined Northern Constabulary in June 1991 and has served in various areas on operational duties and in a number of specialist roles.  He has been an elected representative for 11 years, originally on Northern Constabulary Joint Branch Board and with the North Area Committee since the introduction of the Police Service of Scotland.

He is currently a member of the Joint Central Committee and has the portfolio for Equality.

Neil works from our Inverness Office.

David Threadgold

Chair, North Area Committee

Davie Threadgold joined Grampian Police in August 1998 serving in the landward areas before working in Divisional CID and proactive units.

He was first elected to the local Joint Branch Board in 2002 and has served as both a Constables and Sergeants representative, he has been on the Conduct Committee for approximately 6 years.

Davie was elected as the Chair of the North Area Committee in April 2020 and holds the conduct portfolio.

James Thomson

Depute Secretary, North Area Committee

James Thomson joined Tayside Police in 1996 and has spent time in a variety of roles spending most of his service within the CID environment, working in both reactive CID and the Public Protection Unit. James has also taken up roles as an AFO, worked within the Community and Partnerships arena as well as Response Sergeant in Perth, spent time working with the Police in Malawi and latterly the Anti-Corruption Unit.

He was elected as a Federation rep in 2014 and became the Deputy Secretary of the North Area Committee in June 2018.

Ross Polworth

Vice Chair, North Area Committee

Ross Polworth joined Northern Constabulary in April 2004 and spent ten years based in the Badenoch, Strathspey and Nairn area. During this time Ross also spent a period of time working within a pro-active team based in Inverness. He went on to perform a Prevention and Intervention role in Inverness before moving onto the Divisional Counter Terrorism Liaison Officer role. Ross was also a licensed Counter Terrorism Officer from 2007 until 2020.

Having served as a Constables representative on the North Area Committee since 2015. Ross was elected Vice Chair of the Committee in April 2020 and holds the Health and Safety Portfolio